Geography / Geology
School of Environmental Sciences

Staff and Postgraduate Research Students Directory

  • Head of School
  • Academics
  • Research Staff
  • Support Staff
  • Emeritus/Hon
  • PhD Students

Head of School

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Professor Jeff Blackford Head of School j.blackford@hull.ac.uk  6062

Academics

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Dr Julia Affolderbach Economic Geography J.Affolderbach@hull.ac.uk 5006
Professor David Atkinson Cultural and Historical Geography david.atkinson@hull.ac.uk 5352
Dr Tim Bellerby Hydrometeorology t.j.bellerby@hull.ac.uk 6063
Dr Anna Bird Metamorphic Geology A.Bird@hull.ac.uk 6385
Dr David Bond NERC Advanced Research Fellow d.bond@hull.ac.uk 6536
Dr M Jane Bunting Palaeoecology m.j.bunting@hull.ac.uk 6068
Professor Tom Coulthard Numerical and Physical Modelling t.coulthard@hull.ac.uk 6065
Dr Pauline Deutz Environmental Policy p.deutz@hull.ac.uk 5948
Dr Michelle Farrell Teaching Fellow in Physical Geography m.farrell@hull.ac.uk  6499
Dr Graham Ferrier Earth Observation Science g.ferrier@hull.ac.uk 6060
Professor David Gibbs Economic Geography d.c.gibbs@hull.ac.uk 5330
Professor Jack Hardisty Environmental Physics j.hardisty@hull.ac.uk 5176
Dr Liam Herringshaw Geology & Palaeoecology L.Herringshaw@hull.ac.uk 5349
Dr Lewis Holloway Food, Farming and the Countryside l.holloway@hull.ac.uk 6759
Professor Andrew Jonas Urban Political Geography a.e.jonas@hull.ac.uk 5368
Professor Malcolm Lillie Archaeology m.c.lillie@hull.ac.uk 5325
Dr Briony McDonagh Historical and Cultural Geography B.McDonagh@hull.ac.uk 6734
Dr Stuart McLelland Fluvial Geomorphology s.j.mclelland@hull.ac.uk 5007
Dr David Milan Physical Geography D.Milan@hull.ac.uk 5570
Professor Daniel Parsons Process Sedimentology D.Parsons@hull.ac.uk 5343
Dr Jane Reed Paleolimnology j.m.reed@hull.ac.uk 6061
Dr Elsbeth Robson Social Geography E.Robson@hull.ac.uk 5353
Dr Mike Rogerson Earth Science and Palaeoclimate m.rogerson@hull.ac.uk 6051
Dr Arved Schwendel   A.Schwendel@hull.ac.uk  
Dr Mike Widdowson Geology m.widdowson@hull.ac.uk 6069
Dr Rebecca Williams Geology rebecca.williams@hull.ac.uk 5578

Research Staff

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Helen Baxter Research Associate Helen.Baxter@hull.ac.uk 5922
Dr Helena Gomes Research Associate H.Gomes@hull.ac.uk 6928
Yvonne Inall Research Assistant Y.Inall@hull.ac.uk  
Dr Paul Jensen Research Associate P.Jensen@hull.ac.uk   
Dr Wietse van de Lageweg Postdoctural Researcher W.Van-de-Lageweg@hull.ac.uk 5751
Dr Ramon Mercedes Research Associate r.mercedes@hull.ac.uk 5006
Brendan Murphy Flumes and GPS b.j.murphy@hull.ac.uk 5355
Dr Steve Simmons Research Associate S.Simmons@hull.ac.uk 6498
Chris Skinner Research Assistant C.Skinner@hull.ac.uk  
Dr Kevin Woodbridge Visiting Researcher kevinpaulwoodbridge@gmail.com 6332
Chun Yew Research Assistant C.Yew@hull.ac.uk  

Support Staff

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Mark Anderson Laboratories Technician m.anderson@hull.ac.uk 5057
Tim Bettley IT Support t.bettley@hull.ac.uk 5756
Jonathan Clapham Administrator J.Clapham@hull.ac.uk 5320
Nikki Davies Administration and Quality Manager Nicola.Davies@hull.ac.uk 5351
Mike Dennett Electronics and Computer Hardware m.dennett@hull.ac.uk 5386
Harriet Dryden Administrator H.Dryden@hull.ac.uk 5575
Stef Haldenby Teaching & Learning and Research s.haldenby@hull.ac.uk 5375
David Kennington Finance Clerk D.Kennington@hull.ac.uk 5351
Caroline Matthews School Administrator caroline.matthews@hull.ac.uk 6341
Clare OSullivan Administrator C.OSullivan@hull.ac.uk 5385
Kim Rosewell Field and Physical Geography Support Technician Kim.Rosewell@hull.ac.uk 5644
Kelly Woodall Finance Clerk K.Woodall@hull.ac.uk 5351

Emeritus/Hon

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Emeritus Professor
Professor Lynne Frostick Emeritus Professor l.e.frostick@hull.ac.uk 6069
Emeritus Reader
Dr Sonja Boehmer-Christiansen Emeritus Reader    
Dr Martyn Pedley Carbonate Sedimentology h.m.pedley@hull.ac.uk 5901
Honorary Curator for Herbarium
Mr Richard Middleton Honorary Curator for Herbarium r.middleton@hull.ac.uk  
Honorary Researcher
Lindsey Atkinson Honorary Fellow l.j.atkinson@hull.ac.uk  
Dr Suzanne Beech Honorary Research Associate S.E.Beech@hull.ac.uk  
Rodger Connell Honorary Fellow rodger_connell@yahoo.co.uk (R.Connell@hull.ac.uk)  
Dr Kirstie O'Neill Honorary Research Associate   K.ONeill@hull.ac.uk 5922

PhD Students

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Helen Bergin Being Human in the Heroic Age: A spatial-biographical approach to Captain Colbeck’s Antarctic experiences H.bergin@2012.hull.ac.uk 5313
Martin Black Investigating the potential of airborne hyperspectral imagery for geological mapping in Antarctica Martin.Black@2012.hull.ac.uk  
Bas Bodewes   B.Bodewes@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Stormm Buxton-Hill   S.Buxton-Hill@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Wenbo Cai Assessment and Management of Regional Ecosystem Service: a Case study in Yangtze River Delta Region, China W.Cai@2014.hull.ac.uk 5039
Bronia Chichlowska Producing the Geographies of Childhood in Colonial Africa: Children’s Lives in Twentieth-Century Nyasaland B.M.Chichlowska@2014.hull.ac.uk 6332
Bingni Deng The Eco-transformation of the green land system of industrial areas in China : a tool for sustainable development of eco-cities B.Deng@2015.hull.ac.uk 5039
Sergio Duran   S.Duran@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Yiman Fang   Y.Fang@2015.hull.ac.uk 6332
Julia Hoerner Scattering in Power Curves of Offshore Wind Turbines: Causes and Predictability J.Hoerner@2014.hull.ac.uk  
Robert Houseago   R.C.Houseago@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Hao Hu Monitoring and modelling bedform dynamics in unsteady flow (both floods and tides) H.Hu@2014.hull.ac.uk

6332

Ross Jennings Wave-current Interactions and Tidal Stream Power   R.Jennings@2010.hull.ac.uk 6332
David Jordan The influence of vegetation on fluvial morphodynamics and flood risk D.N.Jordan@2010.hull.ac.uk 5472
Laura-Beth Jordan Environmental Impacts of Tidal Stream Turbines L.Jordan@2013.hull.ac.uk 5472
Kalliopi Kaparounaki Caring Children in Malawi - Children’s Work within Families affected by Illness and Disability K.Kaparounaki@2014.hull.ac.uk 5313
Mayeso Lazaro Grandparenting in the Context of HIV/AIDS and Poverty in southern Malawi: The place of grandfathers in care work for orphans and vulnerable children M.C.Lazaro@2014.hull.ac.uk 5313
Helen Manning    H.Manning@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Cian McGuire Can microfossils tell us how sands are deposited in the deep ocean? C.McGuire@2015.hull.ac.uk  5039
Jessica Moloney Extending the flood record: assessing the uncertainty and viability of paleoflood data J.L.Moloney@2014.hull.ac.uk 5472
Chloe Morris Modelling the Future Shape of the Holderness Coast, Humber Estuary and Spurn Point Chloe.Morris@2014.hull.ac.uk  
Charlotte Mummery Technological change in a fragmentary policy context: the development of hydraulic fracturing (`Fracking’) in the UK C.Mummery@2014.hull.ac.uk 6332
Mbali Pewa   M.K.Pewa@2015.hull.ac.uk 5313
Sam Ramsden Green northern cities? Exploring the benefits of environmental sustainability projects to marginalised urban populations in the UK. S.W.Ramsden@2013.hull.ac.uk 5039
Tiraprapa Ratanachoti The influence of public participation on the implementation of policy and technology in industrial wastewater management in Thailand Tiraprapa.Ratanachoti@2013.hull.ac.uk 5039
Rita Santos Fish ecology in the Mekong River – Dams impact on fish migration pattern and its effects on the basin population R.F.Santos@2014.hull.ac.uk  
Jazmin Scarlett The development of co-volcanic societies: the reciprocal relationships between the volcano La Soufrière and the society of St. Vincent, Lesser Antilles J.Scarlett@2014.hull.ac.uk  
Sarah Shields Maid, wife and widow: women’s life-course and property ownership in 18th-century England S.Shields@2015.hull.ac.uk 5039
Gregory Smith   Gregory.Smith@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Charlotte Stephenson Terrestrial-Marine Teleconnections in a Rapidly Evolving Devonian World  C.Stephenson@2013.hull.ac.uk 6332
Shona Thomson   S.M.Thomson@hull.ac.uk 6332
Hesham Waddani   H.M.waddani@2013.hull.ac.uk 5039
Lucy Rose Wright Sustainability in Urban Food Projects: Comparative Case Studies From Kingston Upon Hull and Copenhagen. L.R.Wright@2013.hull.ac.uk 6332
Xuxu Wu Wave and current induced bedform evolution on mixed (clay-sand) substrates X.Wu@2013.hull.ac.uk 5039
Hui Yang   H.Yang@2016.hull.ac.uk  
Leiping Ye Monitoring and modelling the spatial and temporal dynamics of the estuarine turbidity maximum (ETM): Humber Estuary, UK L.Ye@2012.hull.ac.uk 5472
Zhen Yu Sustainability transition in urban-industrial China Z.Yu@2013.hull.ac.uk 5313
Qian Zuo Spatial Distribution and Prediction of Endemic Fluorosis in Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region, China Q.Zuo@2013.hull.ac.uk 5039
Back to top