Department of Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences

Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences Department

Department Staff and Postgraduate Research Students Directory
  • Head of Department
  • Academics
  • Research Staff
  • Support Staff
  • Emeritus/Honorary
  • PhD Students

Head of Department

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Professor Jeff Blackford Head of Department j.blackford@hull.ac.uk  6062

Academics

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Dr Julia Affolderbach Economic Geography J.Affolderbach@hull.ac.uk 5006
Professor David Atkinson Cultural and Historical Geography david.atkinson@hull.ac.uk 5352
Dr Suzanne Beech Teaching Fellow S.E.Beech@hull.ac.uk 6758 
Dr Tim Bellerby Hydrometeorology t.j.bellerby@hull.ac.uk 6063
Dr Anna Bird   A.Bird@hull.ac.uk  
Dr David Bond NERC Advanced Research Fellow d.bond@hull.ac.uk 6536
Dr M Jane Bunting Palaeoecology m.j.bunting@hull.ac.uk 6068
Professor Tom Coulthard Numerical and Physical Modelling t.coulthard@hull.ac.uk 6065
Dr Pauline Deutz Environmental Policy p.deutz@hull.ac.uk 5948
Dr Sally Eden Environmental Issues s.e.eden@hull.ac.uk 6067
Dr Graham Ferrier Earth Observation Science g.ferrier@hull.ac.uk 6060
Professor David Gibbs Economic Geography d.c.gibbs@hull.ac.uk 5330
Professor Jack Hardisty Environmental Physics j.hardisty@hull.ac.uk 5176
Dr Lewis Holloway Food, Farming and the Countryside l.holloway@hull.ac.uk 6759
Professor Andrew Jonas Urban Political Geography a.e.jonas@hull.ac.uk 5368
Dr Malcolm Lillie Archaeology m.c.lillie@hull.ac.uk 5325
Dr Briony McDonagh Historical and Cultural Geography B.McDonagh@hull.ac.uk 6734
Dr Stuart McLelland Fluvial Geomorphology s.j.mclelland@hull.ac.uk 5007
Dr David Milan Physical Geography D.Milan@hull.ac.uk 5570
Dr Kevin Milburn Teaching Fellow K.Milburn@hull.ac.uk 5349
Professor Daniel Parsons Process Sedimentology D.Parsons@hull.ac.uk 5343
Dr Jane Reed Paleolimnology j.m.reed@hull.ac.uk 6061
Dr Elsbeth Robson Social Geography E.Robson@hull.ac.uk 5353
Dr Mike Rogerson Earth Science and Palaeoclimate m.rogerson@hull.ac.uk 6051
Dr Rebecca Williams Geology rebecca.williams@hull.ac.uk 5578

Research Staff

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Dr Deborah Butler Research Associate Deborah.Butler@hull.ac.uk 5922
Dr Ben Fletcher Research Associate B.Fletcher@hull.ac.uk  
Claire Keevil Research Assistant C.Keevil@hull.ac.uk 5472
Dr Ramon Mercedes Research Associate r.mercedes@hull.ac.uk 5006
Brendan Murphy Flumes and GPS b.j.murphy@hull.ac.uk 5355
Dr Steve Simmons Research Associate S.Simmons@hull.ac.uk 6498
Chris Skinner Research Assistant C.Skinner@hull.ac.uk 5751
Dr Rob Thomas Research Assistant R.Thomas@hull.ac.uk 5472
Dr Kevin Woodbridge Visiting Researcher kevinpaulwoodbridge@gmail.com 6332

Support Staff

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Mark Anderson Laboratories Technician m.anderson@hull.ac.uk 5057
Caroline Matthews Departmental Administrator caroline.matthews@hull.ac.uk 5320
Tim Bettley IT Support t.bettley@hull.ac.uk 5756
Mike Dennett Electronics and Computer Hardware m.dennett@hull.ac.uk 5386
Stef Haldenby Teaching & Learning and Research s.haldenby@hull.ac.uk 5385
Glen Jack Finance Clerk G.Jack@hull.ac.uk 5351
Paul McSherry Departmental Superintendent p.mcsherry@hull.ac.uk 5574
Kim Rosewell Field and Physical Geography Support Technician Kim.Rosewell@hull.ac.uk 5644
Katy Sykes Admissions and Postgraduates katy.sykes@hull.ac.uk 5575
Kelly Woodall Finance Clerk K.Woodall@hull.ac.uk 5351

Emeritus/Honorary

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Emeritus Professor
Professor Lynne Frostick Emeritus Professor l.e.frostick@hull.ac.uk 6069
Emeritus Reader
Dr Sonja Boehmer-Christiansen Emeritus Reader    
Dr Martyn Pedley Carbonate Sedimentology h.m.pedley@hull.ac.uk 5901
Honorary Curator for Herbarium
Mr Richard Middleton Honorary Curator for Herbarium r.middleton@hull.ac.uk  
Honorary Researcher
Lindsey Atkinson Honorary Fellow l.j.atkinson@hull.ac.uk  
Rodger Connell Honorary Fellow rodger_connell@yahoo.co.uk (R.Connell@hull.ac.uk)  
Dr Kirstie O'Neill Honorary Research Associate   K.ONeill@hull.ac.uk 5922

PhD Students

Name Position Email Telephone
When calling from outside the university, please dial +44 (0) 1482 46 before the extension.
Helen Bergin Being Human in the Heroic Age: A spatial-biographical approach to Captain Colbeck’s Antarctic experiences H.bergin@2012.hull.ac.uk 5313
Jalal Etriki Developing criteria and Technical Infrastructure For The Management of Solid Waste J.Etriki@2008.hull.ac.uk 6332
Muhammad Haji-Abdullah Analysis of the suitability of the socio-technical transition to the development of low carbon transportation in Brunei Darussalam M.A.Haji-Abdullah@2010.hull.ac.uk 6332
Joe Hall Emerging geographies of education: an ethnographic study of primary schools gender and sexualities curriculum J.J.Hall@2005.hull.ac.uk 5313
Stephen Hall Sustainable Cities: Land use, transport and environmental governance Stephen.Hall@2004.hull.ac.uk 5313
Tim Horsfield Understanding Storm Surges: A New Radioisotope Method for Measuring their Frequency and Scale T.E.Horsfield@2006.hull.ac.uk 6332
Ross Jennings Wave-current Interactions and Tidal Stream Power   R.Jennings@2010.hull.ac.uk 6332
David Jordan The influence of vegetation on fluvial morphodynamics and flood risk D.N.Jordan@2010.hull.ac.uk 5472
Laura-Beth Jordan     5472
Claire Keevil Spatial and temporal variability in fluid flow and sediment transport in macro-tidal estuaries C.Keevil@hull.ac.uk 5472
Simon Kitcher Palaeoecology of the White Peak s.j.kitcher@geo.hull.ac.uk 5313
Baoli Liu Low Impact Development Stormwater Management Baoli.Liu@2009.hull.ac.uk 5039
Sarinah Omar Sungai Liang Industrial Park: can Brunei achieve its sustainable industrial development? S.B.Omar@2010.hull.ac.uk 6332
Alex Ombler The Port of Hull since 1945: Change, Adaptation and the Dockland Milieu A.Ombler@2010.hull.ac.uk 6332
Sam Ramsden     5039
Tiraprapa Ratanachoti     5039
Suman Singha Investigations into the methods for oil spill detection from Synthetic Aperture Radar Imagery S.Singha@2009.hull.ac.uk 6332
Charlotte Stephenson Terrestrial-Marine Teleconnections in a Rapidly Evolving Devonian World  C.Stephenson@2013.hull.ac.uk 6332
Shona Thomson   S.M.Thomson@hull.ac.uk 6332
Chris Unsworth Unsteady Flow And Bedforms In Open Channel Flows. C.A.Unsworth@2011.hull.ac.uk 5472
Lucy Wright     6332
Xuxu Wu   X.Wu@2013.hull.ac.uk 5039
Leiping Ye Monitoring and modelling the spatial and temporal dynamics of the estuarine turbidity maximum (ETM): Humber Estuary, UK L.Ye@2012.hull.ac.uk 5472
Zhen Yu Sustainability transition in urban-industrial China Z.Yu@2013.hull.ac.uk 5313
Xiaosen Zhang Diatom-based Long-term Paleoclimatic Reconstruction in Balkan Lakes Xiaosen.Zhang@2011.hull.ac.uk 5039
Back to top